Skip to main content

1. Who Can View or Edit a Newly Created Document by Default?

  • When you create a document under My Docs, by default only you can view, edit, or delete it.
  • When you create a document in a Knowledge Base, by default all members of that Knowledge Base can view it. Member permissions are inherited from the Knowledge Base’s “Members and permissions” settings.
  • When you create a sub-document under an existing document, by default all collaborators of the parent document can view it. Their permissions on the sub-document are inherited from the parent document by default, and can be modified or removed.

2. What Are the Default Permission Settings for a New Document or Folder?

For documents or folders created under My Docs or in a Knowledge Base in DingTalk Docs, the default permission settings are as follows: For documents or folders created under My Files or Team Files in Drive, the default permission settings are as follows:

3. Where Can I Modify the Permission Settings?

1) Modify Permission Settings for a Single Document, File, or Folder

  • Anyone with “Can manage” permission on a document, file, or folder can adjust permission rules under Manage permissions > Permission settings.

2) Modify Permission Settings for a Knowledge Base

  • Anyone with “Can manage” permission on a Knowledge Base can adjust permission rules under More settings > Security settings of the Knowledge Base.

4. How Do I Grant Permissions to Others?

To invite others to view, edit, or manage a document together, you need to grant them the appropriate permissions.
  • Method 1: Click Share, then search for users, groups, departments, or roles in the “Invite collaborators” search box, and add them as collaborators with the appropriate permissions.
  • Method 2: Go to Manage permissions from More or Share, then click Add collaborators to add others as document collaborators and grant permissions.

5. How Are Document Permission Settings Inherited?

1) Permission Settings for a Single Document, File, or Folder Are Inherited by Their Sub-Documents by Default

The following situations are exceptions:
  • If the sub-document’s own permission settings are more restrictive, those settings take effect.
  • If the sub-document is set to “Private — parent document permissions no longer apply to this document,” the sub-document’s settings take effect.

2) The Security Settings of a Knowledge Base Can Restrict All Content Within the Knowledge Base

Permission settings for a single document, file, or folder can be more restrictive than the Knowledge Base settings, but cannot exceed the Knowledge Base’s restrictions.

6. How Do I Modify Collaborator Permissions?

  • Go to Manage permissions from More or Share. In the “All collaborators” list, you can modify a collaborator’s permissions or remove a collaborator.
  • Knowledge Base admins have “Can manage” permission on documents by default, which cannot be modified.

7. How Do I Make a Document Public to Everyone in My Organization?

  • When you turn on “Public within organization,” all users in your organization can view this document without being added as collaborators.
  • After turning on “Public within organization,” you can further configure the permissions for all users in your organization.
  • Method 1: Click Share, then turn on Public within organization.
  • Method 2: Go to Manage permissions, then turn on Public within organization.

8. More Permission Control Settings

  • To configure more granular permission controls for actions such as sharing, commenting, and adding collaborators, click Permission settings.
  • Click here to learn more about permission control settings